AVMA Task Force Members Named

The AVMA would like to congratulate the appointees to two AVMA task forces.

Our new Task Force on AVMA Governance and Member Participation includes 11 members who will conduct critical strategic discussions designed to review and evaluate our governance structure, including the AVMA Executive Board, House of Delegates, and each of our councils, committees, task forces, commissions and trusts.

The task force members are charged with determining if the current governance structure will meet the future needs of AVMA membership, the profession and the association. They will also develop a future vision of AVMA governance that considers the qualities and attributes of governance as generally outlined by the AVMA 20/20 Vision Commission.

Task Force on AVMA Governance and Member Participation members include, Mr. Ralph Johnson, who will serve as task force chair, Mr. Richard Alampi, Dr. Sarah Babcock, Dr. Chip Beckett, Dr. Grace Bransford, Ms. Bridget Heilsberg, Dr. Adam Langer, Dr. Stacy Pritt, Dr. Kathy Reilly, Dr. Rebecca Stinson-Dixon and Dr. Lori Teller.

The newly formed Task Force on Foreign Veterinary School Accreditation will evaluate:

  • The impact of foreign veterinary school accreditation on the U.S. veterinary profession and on the quality of standards for the U.S. veterinary profession.
  • The impact of not requiring certification by the Educational Commission on Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) or the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Medical Education (PAVE) for graduates of AVMA-COE-accredited foreign schools.
  • How foreign veterinary school accreditation serves the needs and interests of the public and AVMA members.
  • The existence of any international pressure on the AVMA-COE to accredit foreign veterinary schools.
  • The logistical resources required to accredit foreign veterinary schools.

Task Force on Foreign Veterinary School Accreditation members include, Dr. James Coffman, who will serve as task force chair, Dr. Mimi Arighi, Dr. Philippe Baneux, Dr. Eric Bregman, Dr. Susan Chadima, Dr. Orlando Garza, Dr. Peter Hellyer, Dr. Tony Miele, Dr. Mark Nunez, Mr. Jason Stanhill and Dr. Caroline Zeiss.

We would like to thank all of those who expressed interest in serving on these task forces and look forward to working with the task force members as we strive to meet the current and future needs of veterinarians and the veterinary profession.

One thought on “AVMA Task Force Members Named

  1. Pingback: Task force to alter AVMA governance regroups after backlash |