Senate Panel Advances Nominations for Agriculture Department

By: Gina Luke, assistant director, Governmental Relations Division

On July 24, the U.S. Senate Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry Committee endorsed, by a voice vote, the nomination of Krysta Harden as deputy secretary of the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

In a letter sent on July 12 to Chairwoman Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.) and Ranking Member Thad Cochran (R-Miss.), the AVMA with more than 140 other associations urged Harden’s confirmation. The associations cited her “in-depth understanding of and genuine concern for the varied interests of USDA’s many constituencies” as well as her “even-handed judgment in working with diverse stakeholders” as reasons for her expedient confirmation.

Harden has served as chief of staff to Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack since 2011. Before joining the USDA, Harden served as chief executive of the National Association of Conservation Districts. She also represented the American Soybean Association in Washington and served her native state of Georgia on the staff of U.S. Rep. Charles Hatcher (D).

Comments are closed.