Farm Bill Conferees Named

By: Gina Luke, assistant director, Governmental Relations Division

Forty-one lawmakers have been named to serve on a joint House and Senate conference committee, where they will reconcile the differences between the two chambers’ passed versions of the 2013 Farm Bill.

The current nine-month extension of the 2008 Farm Bill expired on Sept. 30. However, behind the scenes, many legislative staff continue to work informally to resolve the differences between the two bills, hopefully leading to a bill that will pass Congress later this year.

Among the conferees is veterinarian Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-Ore.), who is a member of the House Agriculture Committee. The full list of conferees can be found in this table.

See AVMA’s Legislative Agenda for more information on the provisions that AVMA supports in the Farm Bill.

Comments are closed.